A Peek Behind The Scenes: Get To Know ‘Just For Eve’

Just For Eve is a couture brand which takes pride in making beautiful bespoke knickers and bridal garters. After all, small details are vital in order to have a perfect wedding day. 
Their styles come with a vintage or classic vibe added to their more contemporary designs. Using the finest tulles, silks, satins, ribbons, laces, freshwater pearls and diamanté embellishments, ‘Just For Eve’ designs with the ultra stylish bride in mind.
We present you the master mind behind the brand- Ali Simmons, who will give us a sneak peek of what it is like to create designs for the most special day in the life of a woman. 
105

1. What would you advise a young designer wanting to explore the industry ?
I would advise to research, research, research and know your target market and except it will take over your life.
 
2. Are there any rules or habits you have that help you concentrate and be more productive?
I work every day and when I’m not working my thoughts are always about new designs and pushing the business forward. I love working under pressure which is when my creative side starts to really work, when I’m up against tight deadlines my adrenaline is running and I’m completely focused, however I do have a bad habit of forgetting to eat !
 
3. What do you think is the best way to preserve traditional designs and cultural identities?
I’m not sure what the best way is to preserve traditional designs and cultural identities.  For me as a British designer we try to use fabrics and embellishments sourced from the UK it is important to me that we keep the creating of our garments in this country to enable us to genuinely say we are British designed and handmade.
 
4. In your opinion what does it take to create your own personal style?
For me it’s about individuality, my designs are an extension of me they are beautiful garments that I would love to wear.  When I’m designing, inspiration can be from anywhere from an embellishment on a shoe or lampshade to a colour I’ve seen someone wearing if I like it I try to work it into a design giving it a little piece of me making it my own personal style.
 
5. What do you think motivates creative people more :  the positive moments in their lives or the difficulties they went through?
For me personally it was the difficulties in my life that made me stop and think I’m going to do something I love I wasn’t sure if I could do it or if I could make it work but that drove me on and I found that I had the self belief not to just give up when things got tough – I’m glad I kept going I’ve realised that it takes years to make a business look like it was an overnight success – we are always moving forward even if sometimes it feels like small steps.
8e9d534ec673ed5fa101b43c4b29731e
new garter jan 2015 1B
3d4e2e407dfdbd2ac9a226e566dd87d8
9a655bd8adad149df61673d1cbfefd05
cbd836f659ee9462dfbb6c6954a9b2c4
Leave a Reply

